Recipe: Chinese Cabbage Salad

I happened upon this recipe in last year’s newsletters (thanks Intern Natalie) and found it so delicious I made it twice in one week! I’d call it a cross between a slaw and a waldorf salad. One thing I love about this sort of salad is that you can add, subtract, or substitute just about anything that suites your tastes. I made some adjustments to the recipe and those are in parenthesis.

Ingredients:

6 Tbsp apple cider vinegar (I only used 3 Tbsp)

1 Tbsp dark sesame oil

3 Tbsp sugar

1 tsp grated fresh ginger (I omitted the ginger)

1 large crisp red apple, diced

1 medium head chinese cabbage

1/3 cup golden raisins (I used regular old raisins and they were great. Golden would’ve been nice, but I didn’t want to steal Ashley’s without asking).

2 green onions or 1 onion flower stalk, thinly sliced

2 Tbsp chopped fresh cilantro

1 Tbsp toasted sesame seeds or sesame sticks (I used sunflower seeds the first time and preferred them to the sesame seeds I used the second time. I’d also suggest sliced almonds or toasted pine nuts. )

Method:

Combine vinegar, sugar, oil and ginger in large bowl; stir until sugar dissolves.  Stir in apple.

Add cabbage, raisins, onions, cilantro, and sesame seeds; gently stir until well combined.

This is also a great make-ahead dish: cover, refrigerate overnight, and the cabbage softens slightly and the tangy flavors blend even more.

Leave a comment