Round one of Seeding Completed

Hello All. I have taken over managing the farm from Paige and Justin, as of the first of the year. This is a very exciting time for me, and I am more than enthused about this upcoming season. For me this truly is farming coming full circle, as four years ago I was an intern for Paige and Justin, and now I am managing the farm, I first learned how to farm on. Its truly a dream and an opportunity come true for me, and I am looking forward to sharing my excitement and love of farming with everyone that visits and engages with the farm.

IMG_0524

I spent much of December crop planning and selecting seeds, and waiting patiently as all my seeds arrived throughout January.  The farms first intern of the season arrived this week, Matt Nesbitt, and  I am extremely excited to have him on board the crew this year. Matt moved here by way of Birmingham Alabama, where he worked his way around the city as a cook, hoping he can share his culinary skills with us this year!

IMG_0527

We are already hard at work on the farm even though its only the first week of February! We spent most of this week seeding our first round of spring crops. This included: onions, leeks, broccoli, cabbage, cauliflower, kale, chard, collards, bok choi, chinese cabbage, lettuce, spinach and herbs. It was a multi-day event, but thanks to additional helping hands, such as Vikki (who also provided some of these pictures), Allison, Chris, and Abby.

20140207_120823 (2)

I am hoping to soon be able to start tilling and prepping the fields for spring production, which is just around the corner.In-between greenhouse seedings, Matt and I are focused on getting the farm organized and cleaned up for the upcoming season. Since I am taking over the farm this year, I think it is a good time to give the farm a good spring cleaning. So we are doing a lot of moving and reorganizing of farm equipment and materials. We have a few construction projects on the docket, and some fun landscaping farm aesthetic type improvements we hope to make, as well as a fun spray station for vegetable washing. Unfortunately there are only so many days in February. Soon enough we will have two more sets of hands! 

Happy seeding!  I will post again once everything has germinated!

20140207_120703-Ashley

2 responses to “Round one of Seeding Completed

Leave a Reply

