Recipe: O-Konomi-Yaki (Japanese Pancakes)

I’m sure all of our CSA members have been enjoying the abundance of greens that we have on the farm right now. I love all these hearty greens like kale, collards, and chard, but before I came here I don’t think I had ever had (or heard of) certain Asian greens like bok choi and Chinese cabbage. The past few weeks, I’ve been enjoying excellent stir-fries over lo-mein, or rice. I was a curious to see if I could find something else to do with these veggies though, and the recipe below is what I found. Japanese pancakes made with vegetables. I’d probably put soy sauce instead of syrup on these though. Enjoy!

O-Konomi-Yaki

Inspired by the Tassajara Bread Book

For about 5 people

1/2 cabbage: Chinese or green

1 large carrot

1-3 spring onion

1 bulb green garlic

2 cups flour

2 tablespoons brown sugar

1 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup chicken or vegetable stock

Chop, shred, dice, or thinly slice vegetables (feel free to add meat too). Mix together remaining ingredients to form batter. Fold vegetables into batter and grill using sesame or vegetable oil.

Veggies to be chopped

Mixing batter

Grilling pancakes

Delicious!


Leave a Reply

