Recipe: Penne With Eggplant Puree

I cooked dinner a few days after writing my last recipe post, and it was soo amazing I thought I would share it with you. I sat down at the kitchen table after all my hard work,and laughed when I realized how inspired I was from my blog post, and how I had used almost 3/4 of the share in my meal. And what did I make you might ask?

Eggplant Puree with penne, roasted potatoes, and glazed carrots.

Eggplant Puree:

Ingredients:
Eggplant-one large, diced large
4-5 large tomatoes- peeled and seeded, diced large
1-2 large bell peppers-diced large
1 large onion-diced
1 large fennel-bulb diced large
1 head of garlic-cloves diced
basil
olive oil
red pepper flakes
parmesan

Method:

Line baking sheet with parchment paper. Preheat oven to 375. Place diced eggplant, tomatoes, peppers, fennel, onion, and garlic in bowl. Sprinkle veggies with red pepper flakes (light-handed, maybe 1/4 tspn, the more-the spicier), salt, pepper, and drizzle with olive oil,  toss around in bowl. Then spread veggies onto parchment paper, and bake in oven for 30-35 mins. After 20 minutes, cook pasta, I used a random mix penne and other noodles I had in the cupboard. When veggies are done cooking place in blender or food processor, and add some basil leaves, and puree them. I kept mine very chunky.  If you want to make the sauce a little thinner, add some pasta water.  I only pureed about 2/3 of mine, and after I tossed the pasta with the puree, I added some of the whole chunky roasted veg, to make the pasta sauce even thicker. I grated parmesan after I plated it, but I am sure you could add it directly into the blender before you puree everything up. Makes enough for 2-3 good sized portions.

I enjoyed this dish very much, and used the fennel simply because I had some in the fridge, and thought the flavor sounded good with the pasta sauce. I found this recipe on the food network website by Giada de Laurentiis, via smittenktichen.com, and changed it up a bit. In it she used cherry tomatoes, which I am sure would also work, maybe giving the sauce a little sweetness.

And best of all even my dog Bailey enjoyed eating the leftovers!

Leave a Reply

