Recipe: Collard Greens So Good A Buckeye Will Eat Them

Growing up in Ohio, I never once had collard greens.  After moving to Georgia, I celebrated Thanksgiving at a friend’s and fell in love with these collard greens.  I couldn’t believe what I’d been missing!  I made these for my family of skeptical Buckeyes the following Thanksgiving and now have collard fans in Ohio!  They were gobbled up and given the title “Kick Ass Collard Greens”.  They do take a while, but they are worth it!

If you are not familiar with cutting greens, an easy method is to cut the leaves from the stems (if stems are large), then stack several leaves on top of each other, roll into “cigar,” and cut into thin strips. Or, of course, for a little more fun, you can tear them.

Ingredients:

1 bunch collards (stemmed and chopped)

1 medium sized smoked ham hock (optional, but I recommend it)

1/3 cup onion

1/2 T molasses

2 t salt

2/3 cup vinegar

1 3/4 T Worcheshire sauce

1/3 t hot sauce

1/3 t garlic powder

1/3 t red pepper flakes

1/8 t white pepper

1/8 t black pepper

Method:

Fill a large stock pot 1/2 full of water.  Add all ingredients except collards and bring to boil.  Add collards in batches, allowing them to cook down a bit between additions.  When all collards have been added, reduce heat and simmer 2-3 hours (check after 2 hours for preferred texture).  Should be delicious!

Should serve 6, but let me know. I’ve always doubled or tripled it.

2 responses to “Recipe: Collard Greens So Good A Buckeye Will Eat Them

  1. Oh, MY…these were awesome!!! I’m a Buckeye, but my roots have run deep into collard territory for more years now than not and these were the best I’ve ever made!! Maybe a tad too much spice for the kiddos…but then again I don’t measure much either. I used 1/3 c apple cider and 1/3 c white vinegar and 1/2 c of shredded cooked bacon and added a t of brown sugar towards the end for another layer of flavor. 2 hours to perfect crisp & tender – YUM! 🙂

    • Hey Laura, So glad to hear you liked them! And your additions sound wonderful…I’ll need to try YOUR recipe next time ; ) Hope your Birthday dinner was as good as I promised. And again, Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

