Recipe: Massaged Kale Salad

Massaged Kale Salad

Eat your greens!  Who doesn’t need another way to eat kale!  I find it easier to eat kale cold in the summer.  This recipe is for a salad that we enjoy at our house quite often.  It is adapted from a Debra Mazer recipe that she used last year at our farmer’s market.  Raw vegetables generally contain much higher nutrient levels than when you cook them and massaging them makes the texture just as desirable.  Massage away!

Ingredients:

1 Bunch kale

Lemon juice

Olive oil

Sea salt and pepper

Can of artichoke hearts

Grated parmesan cheese

Raisins, cranberries, or both

Nuts – sliced almonds, pine nuts, or pecans

Grated root veggies – carrots, radishes, sunchoke,  kohlrabi

Sliced avocado

Process:

Remove stalks from kale.  I do this by holding the top part of the leaf in my left hand, grabbing the stalk with my right and pulling upwards.  Leaving some of the stalk is ok.  Next I take the leaves and roll them up together.  I then chop them up to small pieces and place them in a large mixing bowl.

Next, I add 1/4 to 1/2 cup of lemon juice depending on kale amount.  I then add about 1-2 tablespoons of sea salt and some black pepper.  Next I add about 1/4 cup of olive oil.  I then start the massage process.  I work pressing and mixing the salt, lemon juice, and oil into the leaves.  I work it for about 3-5 minutes until the kale is noticeably different.  I prefer at this point to refrigerate the mixture overnight and mix in the other ingredients the next day.

I take the kale mixture out of the fridge and put it back in a mixing bowl.  I then add artichoke hearts, 1 cup of Parmesan, 1 cup of raisins or cranberries, 1/2 cup of nuts,  and 1/2 cup of grated root veggies and begin mixing thoroughly.  Once mixed well I add the sliced avocado to the top.

This is a great salad recipe for the warm summer months and anytime you need to spice up your kale!

One response to “Recipe: Massaged Kale Salad

  1. THIS

    IS

    AMAZING.

    Yep, I’ve made this a bunch. It’s so easy and so delicious–and so adaptable! If you don’t happen to have all of these ingredients, you can use what you have on hand and it’ll still be good!

Leave a Reply

