Recipe: Spring Stir-Fry

I made this awesome stir-fry last week after we harvested for CSA, and I thought I would share it.

Note- this is a very basic recipe, and any veggies on hand could be used in any various amounts, whatever suits your tastes. Also, chop the veggies as big or little as you want them.

Ingredients:

1 Bunch of Radishes (thinly sliced roots with, with or without chopped greens)

1 Bunch of Turnips (thinly sliced roots, with or without chopped greens)

1 Head of Bok Choy (chopped: stems and leaves)

1 Bunch Green Garlic (chopped from root tip leaf tips)

1 Bunch Green Onion and/ or onion flowers (chopped)

Stir-Fry Sauce:

3 tbsp soy sauce
3 tbsp rice wine vinegar
3 tbsp oyster sauce
3 tbsp brown sugar
1 tbsp fish sauce
1/2 tsp dark sesame oil

Recommended Spices: chili powder, ground ginger, pepper (white or black depending on preference); all to taste

Note: I found this recipe online and liked it, however, I lowered the rice wine vinegar amount, because  I thought it was too strong. You can make this sauce to taste. I use all of these Asian sauces frequently, and have them on hand. But a simple soy sauce, with brown sugar, rice wine vinegar, and ginger would work just as well. It is not necessary to use every ingredient listed. I am more of a ‘add different things together until it tastes good’ kind of cook. Just don’t be afraid to experiment with this. Also, I love Asian markets, if you can find one around you I highly recommend it. I am a big fan of a thicker sweeter soy sauce, which I can only find at an Asian market. Plus its fun too look around, and try new things. But note that many of the things are not made in the U.S if that is something you are strict about.

Method:

First chop all veggies for the stir fry and set aside.

Then make the stir-fry sauce, whatever tastes good to you, and set aside.

Heat up olive oil in a wok or saute pan.  Saute heartier veggies first (radish and turnip roots, and bok choy), after a few minutes, add green garlic, onion and various greens (from turnips, radishes and bok choy). While cooking you can add a few tablespoons of stir-fry sauce.  When veggies are cooked to your liking, remove from heat.

Serve veggies over rice. I like to keep the sauce on the side and add more as I need it. If you have any herbs on hand feel free to add at end in with other veggies, or chop up and use as a garnish. I used parsley, but I am sure chives, or cilantro, or even basil would taste good to. Also, when I made this I marinated some boneless skinless chicken breast before hand, and chopped up and cooked in the wok with the veggies.

Leave a Reply

